Tuesday’s Tip: Orlando has a hometown liquor distillery? What?

Starting another of what I hope to be one of my weekly structured posts…Tuesday’s Tip.  Every Tuesday I hope to share with you a tip.  It could be something new I just found out about that I would like to share, or it could be something that has helped me many times in the past that might help you!

Today’s tip is more for people in Orlando than anything else, and something I just discovered that I want to share with you.  Did you know that there is a whisky and vodka distillery in Orlando?  Well, there is!  Check it out:

Winter Park Distilling Company

How cool is that?  I had no idea this even existed until this morning.  I haven’t tried any of their stuff yet, so I have no idea if it’s any good, but I plan to try it and will report back here on Sunshine and Some Tea.  The distillery does not seem to be open to the public, but the website lists several local vendors that carry their stuff.

Maybe it’s silly, but I am so proud of my city!  I used to hate living in Orlando when I was growing up.  In high school and college I couldn’t wait to get out because I thought Orlando was so dull and lifeless…A city of transplants…No culture of its own…etc.  But as I have become an adult and time has passed, it seems to have gotten much more exciting.  Now there is ALWAYS something new going on, and something interesting to try.  We now have trendy food trucks, new and interesting restaurants with lots of different and fun concepts and gimmicks, a myriad of festivals year-round, and apparently even liquor distilleries.  And now, despite the ridiculously hot weather for 9 months out of the year, I think I can say that I love living here. Why would I want to leave?  My family and friends are (almost) all here, and there is SO much to see and do all the time.  Such a 180 degree turn from where I was 10 or 12 years ago.

So there you go, Orlando…Your tip of the week.  If you try the vodka or whisky, let me know what you think and I will do the same.

And have a great Tuesday!

6 responses

  1. Hi Heather! Love the blog 🙂 Oh, and happy belated birthday!

    I used to feel the same way about Orlando. I really think it’s changed a lot in the last 20 years!

    I had no idea we had a distillery. How fun! Not necessarily the same thing, but have you been to Orlando Brewing?

    • Hi Michelle! Thanks so much!

      Yes, I have been to Orlando Brewing! Love their beers. We went to a Pet Rescue By Judy event there once, Pints for Paws I think is what it was called. It was awesome because they allowed dogs and cats into the taproom during the event. So we got to hang out with some cute doggies and kitties while we drank our beers. 🙂

  2. If you guys haven’t tried their stuff yet, you HAVE too. The vodka is soooo good, and I’m not even a whiskey person, but it’s totally different than any whiskey you’ve ever had! They have both the Genius Vodka and the Bear Gully Corn Whiskey at a bunch of different ABCs and at Total Wine, plus a bunch of restaurants, so it’s pretty easy to find.

    Happy Drinkings!

    P.S. I stumbled upon your blog, and it’s totally fun!

    • Hi there! Thanks for stopping by!

      I actually was able to sample the whiskey at Peacock Room a few weeks ago and you are SO right…it was really good! I’m not a whiskey person either, but I really liked it. Haven’t gotten around to the vodka yet, but it’s on my agenda for one of these days.

Leave a Reply

