Ready to slow down a bit.

It has probably been about a year since my social life has REALLY picked up.  My husband Tadd and I have gotten a lot closer with a lot of people in the last 12 months or so, which has been really amazing.  As I mentioned in my post at the end of last weekend, I LOVE MY FRIENDS!!!  But oh my goodness have we been busy.  Every weekend, and usually at least once during the week we have been busy with plans galore.  I feel like we haven’t stopped in weeks…no, months!  Parties, and outings, and trips to Disney, and happy hours, even a cruise vacation, and on and on.  It has been a lot of fun, and I am the type that really likes to keep busy as much as possible, but I am starting to experience burnout.

Which is why I am SO happy this weekend is a three-day weekend, and we don’t really have any heavy plans, for the first time in I don’t know how long!  We do have a lot of stuff to do around the house…but it’s all stuff we have been putting off because we have been so busy.  And with three days, we should be able to get in some relaxing too.  We might even get to go to the movies!  I haven’t seen a movie in FOREVER.

A lot of the stuff we are doing around the house is to get the house ready for my 20 year old brother-in-law, who arrives the first weekend in June.  He is flying down from Tennessee to live with us for awhile.  He is going through a rough time in his life and needs some direction, so hopefully Tadd and I will be able to help him turn his life around and put down some solid roots in Central Florida.  I just hope he can find a job quickly!  Until then, he will be helping Tadd with some projects around the house: cleaning out the garage, working on the lawn, etc.  My hope is that he truly realizes the gift we (my mother-in-law, Tadd, and I) are giving him by helping him to start his life over somewhere else.  It’s a big opportunity, and I hope he takes full advantage and makes something great of his life.

One response

  1. I hear you on the three day weekend! Totally needed! I think some down time is in order for our group–we all need it.

    I think it’s commendable that you and Tadd are taking your brother-in-law in. I know you have hopes for him that he’ll turn over a new leaf. I hope he does. But if you ever need to get out for awhile, we’re not far away and we always have wine in the house. In fact, I’m thinking of building a new wine rack.

Leave a Reply

