Meet the fuzzy babies!

My husband and I are currently kid free.  This may or may not change soon, but until then we have our beautiful and lovable four-legged children Logan & Stella.  I wanted to take a moment to officially introduce them on my blog.

Stella & Logan

Logan came into our lives the weekend after we got back from our honeymoon, in August 2004.  He was about 12 weeks old and so tiny!  Seven years later and he is a whopping 22 lbs and is definitely our diva kitty.  He is a bit high maintenance, but we love him unconditionally and couldn’t imagine life without him.  When he’s in a snuggly mood, he can be SO sweet.  He purrs so loud sometimes, it can wake me up from a dead sleep.  He loves boxes and places that are just big enough to fit him (or sometimes even places that are a bit too small).  Despite his quirks, he will always be my first kitty and has a special place in my heart.

Our most recent addition is Stella, who is about a year and a half old.  We adopted her last April and she is our snuggle-bug.  I have never met a kitty like her in my life.  She ADORES Tadd, and will follow him around the house and mew at him incessantly to pick her up and carry her around.  If we are sitting or laying down, she is on our laps begging for snuggles.  She will play fetch at times with her favorite green and red toy mouse that we call her “baby”.  She is as petite as Logan is big…about 6.5 lbs.

A little less than a year  before we adopted Stella, we lost our second kitty.  Back in November of 2004, about 4 months after we adopted Logan, we adopted another kitty we named April.  At age 5, she rather suddenly developed kidney problems and, after a week in the cat hospital, we lost her.  I cried for 2 weeks…Still miss her and think about her nearly every day.  Stella reminds me a lot of April in a few different ways.  She was a bit less dainty and a bit more tomboyish, but she still had that sunny demeanor that Stella has, and she loved to play fetch.  Sometimes I wonder what life would have been like with both April & Stella together.  I’d like to think they would have been best friends, and would lovingly team up against Logan, who really takes himself just a bit too seriously in that cattish way…

My Angel-kitty April

3 responses

  1. I love your cats. But then I’m a cat person myself. Love how quirky they can be. Never let anyone tell you that cats don’t have personalities–cats thing they’re more ‘people’ than people are. Logan looks thrilled to have that octopus on his head. :-p

  2. I had never been a cat person but I think that is changing since we got Boehner. I had always considered myself just a dog person but it’s nice to realize that I have the ability to love both dogs and cats know. I still plan on getting a dog once we own a home and I am sure Boehner will let the dog know he is boss.

  3. Pingback: Tuesday’s Tip: Bissell SpotBot « Sunshine and some tea.

Leave a Reply

