Tuesday’s Tip: Talenti Sea Salt Caramel Gelato

So here we go…A non-alchoholic tip for a Tuesday.

This is not one of those “put on your grocery list every week” sort of items.  This is much more of a special occasion, once-in-a-while item.  Something to pick up if you really want to treat yourself.

Talenti Sea Salt Caramel Gelato

Talenti Sea Salt Caramel Gellato

Tadd, being the thoughtful sweet husband that he is, bought this as a treat for me when he went grocery shopping with his brother on Sunday.  Let me warn you, it is pricey…  They come in 1 pint plastic containers as pictured above, and Publix had this on sale this past week at 2 for $8.  So $4 for a pint, on sale.  But I think $4 or even $5 for an every-so-often indulgence, in the grand scheme of things isn’t too bad.  It’s better than spending $50-$100 treating yourself to a new purse or shoes, right?

This stuff is simply amazing.  It’s hard to even describe, but I will try…  It’s just really really really really good.  It’s the kind of good where you THINK you could sit and eat the whole thing, but you really just need a few spoonfuls and you are good to go.  Gelato is much denser and creamier than ice cream, and they really get the taste of caramel just right.  With the heaviness of the gelato and the intensity of the flavor, you really only need a little bit to feel satisfied.  The salt note gives it a complexity and sophistication that you just don’t get with regular ice cream.  It doesn’t taste salty, but you can still taste what the salt does to the caramel.  Also, mixed into the gelato are chunks of salted caramel truffles.  So good.

So next time you are having a bad day, or want to celebrate something, or just want to treat yourself…This is my suggestion.  If you give it a try, let me know your thoughts.  Talenti has several other flavors that I want to try too, but it will be hard to choose those flavors knowing that I would be passing up Sea Salt Caramel!

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. I’ve had their Carmel Cookie Crunch and I love it! I’m not much of a Carmel person but this is lush. Despite the denser texture it still has a certain lightness to it. It’s like gelato has this ability to be its own contradiction–dense but light and such. I do have my eye on their Mediterranean Mint, but I need to be a good girl, work out and earn that one.

Leave a Reply

