7 Day Blog Challenge! Day 3: A Hasty Life

I have made it to day 3 of the 7 Day Blog Challenge!  Today I have another personal blog for you.  I started clicking blog to blog in the hopes of finding something new and interesting to read.  In doing so, I stumbled across A Hasty Life. a blog about a lovely lady named Ashley in Missouri.

A Hasty Life

More specifically, I stumbled across this post about a friend of Ashley’s who lost everything in the recent devastating Joplin, MO tornado, which really struck a chord with me.  We get a lot of crazy storms here in Orlando.  As a matter of fact, a few months after we moved into this house, we had a really scary storm where there were break-in news casts reporting on a tornado spotted in VERY close proximity.  Then we briefly lost power.  We could hear the wind SCREAMING outside.  I had a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach and started seeing visions of the house being ripped up around us.  In my fear I saw visions of almost exactly what Ashley’s friend went through as recounted in the blog post.  We ended up weathering that storm just fine, but it’s a scary reminder that nature shouldn’t be messed with, and to not take the little things in life for granted.  Amazing but heartbreaking stuff.  I’m so glad to hear that at the end of the story the friend and her husband were not seriously injured, despite their great loss.

Another interesting item I found on Ashley’s blog is the Purple Dress Project.

The Purple Dress Project

This is a project Ashley founded to raise awareness about a disease she and many others suffer from, Crohn’s Disease.  In the month of April, she wore the same purple dress everyday to prove that Crohn’s Disease is nothing to be ashamed of.  According to the donation site for the project, to date she has raised $3,225.70 to help fund research to eradicate the disease, of which there is currently no cure.  I just thought this was such a creative and interesting way to bring attention to such a great cause.

If you wish to donate to The Purple Dress Project, click the button below:

I encourage you all to check out A Hasty Life!  Yet another great blog found thanks to the 7 Day Blog Challenge!

2 responses

  1. Wow! Thank you so much!! I love reading what others have to say about me and what they think of my blog. I can’t thank you enough for this post!! You’re so sweet!! I’m a new follower of your blog!

Leave a Reply

