La Casa de Sunshine

Decorating my house is one of the things in life that I really truly enjoy.  There is never enough money or time to do everything I want, and the process is very very slow going, but it brings me a lot of happiness to know I am putting my very own stamp on our house.

As I mentioned before, when we bought our house originally, it was extremely builder basic.  We bought the house as a foreclosure, but the previous owner was also the original owner, and I believe he bought the house as an investment property.  I feel bad because he obviously lost a LOT of money on the house, but it also looks like he put pretty much nothing into it after buying it.  At least nothing cosmetic.  Everything from the white walls to the bland oak cabinetry to the hideous $5 brass light fixtures screams builder-grade.  So when we moved in, we knew that any iota of style this house was going to get was going to come from us.

This is what our kitchen looked like the very night we took possession of the house back in November 2009.  See what I mean?  Bland, bland, bland.

Kitchen "before" pic.

And this is what the kitchen looks like now…

A little more personality...Don't you think?

I can't tell you how much I adore this light fixture!

Of course, as mentioned in a previous post, I have SO much more in store for this kitchen.  I want white cabinets with crown molding, beadboard-wrapped island, white subway tile backsplash, dark wide plank laminate wood floors, and some kind of a rich-colored (maybe a deep grey/brown?) quartz countertop.  All of that will have to come later, but at least it has some stamp of ME on it now.

Next, we move into the living room, which is completely open to the kitchen.

This is what it looked like before we moved in:

A carpted, white box, basically...

And here it is now…Not really all that shocking of a change, but I still find it homey.

Yes, I love my red sectional.  We have had it for 6 years now, in 3 different homes, and no, I have never once regretted choosing the red one.  I know I raised a few eyebrows when we first ordered it (my mother, most notably, who I am sure thought i would live to regret it), but I am not really one to be afraid of color and this is no different.  Things I would like to do in this room: new flooring (same dark wide plank laminate wood mentioned for the kitchen, which I actually want through the entire house), window treatment, slipper chair and end table for next to the sectional (for the side closest to the righthand bottom corner of the above pic), and some kind of shelf unit/desk/hutch type piece for the opposite wall, where the living room transitions into the kitchen.

Ok, that’s enough for now.  I still want to show you the dining room and the guest room, both of which have  had more drastic changes, but I must get ready for the day.  We are going to pick up this mirror for the powder room:

Only $35 right now at Hobby Lobby!!

And then we have to get ready for a really fun event tonight, which I hope to tell you more about in a future post.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Yellow Appreciation Society « Sunshine and some tea.

  2. Pingback: My 2011 blog year in review. « Sunshine and some tea.

Leave a Reply

