Three days off! Yay!

Who is ready for the long weekend?  Me me me me me!!!

I am excited that we don’t really have a lot planned, so we HOPEFULLY use the time to:

  1. Get some projects done around the house!  *ahem*powderroom!*ahem*
  2. Get some items crossed off my Summer List!

I am going to a party for the 4th on Monday night and have volunteered to bring a dessert, so hopefully I can come up with something crowd-pleasing and yummy.  I keep going back and forth between a few different ideas, so we’ll see what I end up making.  Maybe more than 1 thing?  Not sure yet.  My requirements are that it looks patriotic and tastes great.  Top contender at the moment is a strawberry/blueberry trifle…maybe something like this:

Found on Pinterest.

But then part of me thinks it would be SO much easier on guests to make something they can just grab and eat, instead of something that requires that they have to scoop out and serve themselves.  So I don’t know.  I will probably end up doing the trifle though.  But that means I need to go get myself a trifle dish…

And if I DO make the trifle, I contend that it is close enough to the concept of strawberry shortcake, that I will be able to cross that item off my Summer List!

I also have grand plans to clean out the larger of our two foyer closets.  This is the one that goes under the staircase, which Tadd and our friends have affectionately dubbed the “Harry Potter Closet”.  It houses all of our holiday decorations, wrapping paper, luggage and assorted odds and ends, but right now it’s a wreck.   I need a new system for organizing our holiday stuff, which seems to grow each year.  I want matching bins for each minor holiday, and I want a shelf system in there.

But…I am getting ahead of myself, because more than likely this really won’t get done this weekend.  I need the powder room to be finished first.  That is priority.  I have a tendency to mentally move on to the next project before the old project is done, which leads to a lot of unfinished projects.  Trying to curb that habit.  I am very hopeful I will have a finished powder room to show you by the end of the weekend!  Just got to get that cabinet painting done and get everything installed and hung up.

Oooh!  Also wanted to give a little shout out to LoveFamilyHateWork!  She made some dollar store hurricanes of her own this week!  Go on over and check them out.  Great job!

4 responses

  1. That desserts looks yummy! If you are looking for a less messy option, here’s my suggestion. Make mini trifles!

    Just go and get some cheap, see-through plastic cups and layer the trifle in those instead of one big dish. I hope it goes well!

    Enjoy the long weekend 🙂

  2. I was thinking, if it’s not a terrible amount of additional work – if you want everyone to be able to have individual dessert, perhaps you could make mini trifles in those plastic cups that get used for wine/soft drinks at bar parties. Do you know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

