Sangria: My summer beverage of choice!

Hope my readers in the United States are enjoying this lovely holiday weekend!  Time to knock another item off of my Summer List!

One of my favorite beverages, especially when the weather is warmer, is sangria!  I have never enjoyed bottled sangria, so I have experimented in making my own.  It’s one of those delightfully easy and versatile recipes that you can change up however you would like.  I decided to share the standard recipe with you, but please feel free to change up the fruit juices, wines, and anything else based on your preference, or just what you have on hand.

This recipe will make a large pitcher’s worth, so if you have a smaller crowd of 2 or 3, you can easily cut it in half.  Having a full-fledged party?  Double it!  It seems like no matter how much I make, it always goes fast at a party.

Reserve some pretty citrus slices for garnish if you would like.

Heather’s Classic Sangria

1.5 L merlot

4 cups berry blend juice (you can use cranberry juice, or any sort of cranberry blend, whatever you like!)

2 lemons (juiced)

2 limes (juiced)

OPTIONAL: splash of brandy

OPTIONAL: splash of orange juice

2 cups of ginger ale

Pour everything except the ginger ale into a pitcher.  If you want, you can throw the juiced wedges or reserved slices of the citrus in the pitcher too.  Let this chill in the fridge a few hours or overnight.  Add the ginger ale just before serving.  Serve over ice.

You can mix and then serve it right away if you want, without letting it chill in the fridge.  But the flavors intensify and marry together the longer it has been sitting.

Once you get the hang of this basic sangria, you can start experimenting like I do.  I have done a white sangria using pinot grigio in place of the merlot, white grape juice in place of the berry juice, and oranges instead of lemons & limes.  I have also done a tropical pink sangria with rosé, white cranberry juice, and pineapple juice (tasted kind of like a pink Starburst!  Yum…).

Happy experimenting!  Enjoy!

6 responses

  1. Yum, Heather! Looks and sounds delicious. I am going to be making some rum punch for a birthday party I am attending on Monday and will be happy to share the recipe with you if it turns out well. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekend Update! Fourth of July version… « Sunshine and some tea.

  3. Pingback: My 2011 blog year in review. « Sunshine and some tea.

  4. Pingback: Pink Sangria! | sunshine and some tea

Leave a Reply

