Weekend Update

Friday night we did our usual.  Made brats and pierogies for dinner, drank some Sam Adams Summer Ale, and watched a few documentaries (my guilty pleasure!) and The Soup before heading to bed quite early.

Saturday we did some stuff around the house, including working a bit on the powder room.  We also made a stop at Lowe’s, where I once again was completely undecided on a light fixture for the powder room and walked out with nothing.  I have it narrowed down at least!  I think…

Our intention was to do a little bit of anniversary celebrating Saturday afternoon and evening.  We had plans to go to Lakeridge Winery followed by dinner at a newish place in Downtown Clermont.  But, for various reasons, it was not to be.  So we opted for dinner at one of our favorite local spots, Sushi Pop!  It’s a Japanese-pop-culture-themed sushi restaurant.  Really fun and wacky, but still somewhat sophisticated and REALLY good.  What better place to celebrate an anniversary than someplace happy and fun and full of good food?

Incidentally, my buddy over at The Gypsy Wicked blog recently did a review of Sushi Pop.  Click here to check it out!

We had many of our usuals…Kirin beer for Tadd, raspberry saketini for me, and a shared order of truffle salt edamame to start…

For sushi, I got my usual, the Oviedo Chicken roll (tempura chicken, Japanese mayo and avocado drizzled with honey mustard…YUM!) and Tadd got the Lobster & Almonds roll (tempura lobster, avocado, asparagus, smelt roe, yuzu tartar sauce, encrusted with toasted almonds).  We also split an  asparagus roll.

It really was a lovely anniversary dinner.  We went to a local yogurt shop for dessert, where I had strawberry, cakebatter, and vanilla yogurt topped with pineapples, strawberries, coconut, peanuts, a little bit of hot fudge, and rainbow sprinkles.  Tadd had some kind of candy-covered monstrosity with reese’s pieces, peanut butter sauce, chocolate chips, and sprinkles. We went home after our dinner and dessert, opened up a bottle of blush wine, and watched another documentary, and just relaxed together.

Sunday morning was spent cleaning and adding one last coat to the cabinets in the powder room.  My parents came by in the early afternoon to show us pictures from their recent Baltic Sea cruise, and also to meet our new kitten Jacoby for the first time.  They brought me this really nice table runner from Estonia.  I thought it went beautifully with my dining room decor, and the texture and interest it provides is just what my table needed!  LOVE IT!  My parents rock!

I know it’s still wrinkled from the packaging, but I couldn’t wait to get it on my table and see how it looked!

Shortly after they left, we headed out to the Avalon Park Food Truck Bazaar, then back home to eat cupcakes, drink more wine, relax, and enjoy what was left of our anniversary weekend.

BUT!  Before we got to relaxing, Tadd gave me THE BEST anniversary gift!  He put the powder room vanity back together with the new hardware and cleaned up the “construction zone”.  I finally have a beautiful, usable powder room!  It looks sooo great and I can’t wait to show you.  It’s just as I had envisioned it back when we first moved into the house in 2009!  But first we still have to decide on and install a light fixture…

Leave a Reply

