Tuesday’s Tip: Lost Coast Tangerine Wheat

I have always been of the mind that those who claim to not like the taste of beer really just haven’t found and tried the right beer yet.   There are such vast varieties and flavors of beer out there to try, I truly believe there is at least one out there for every person.  For so many beer newbies, their first impressions can often be marred if they end up being turned off by the taste of the more ubiquitous brands like Budweiser or Miller.  Some might think this is how all beers are supposed to taste and give up.  But, really, it’s just the tip of the iceberg in a world of vastly different flavors, brewing techniques, and varieties.

Lost Coast Tangerine Wheat beer (click for image source)

Several of my girlfriends are not big beer drinkers.  They are more the wine & cocktail crowd.  Recently on a girls night out at a pizza restaurant known for their vast beer menu, I convinced the ladies to let me pick out a pitcher of beer for us to share that I thought they might like.  They were game to give it a try, so I ordered us a pitcher of Lost Coast Tangerine Wheat.

The Lost Coast Brewery website has this to say about their Tangerine Wheat:

A refreshing citrus ale, Lost Coast Tangerine Wheat combines our Lost Coast Harvest Wheat with natural tangerine flavors. Brewed with a combination of wheat and crystal malts, and finished with Perle hops.

To me, it’s an extremely refreshing beverage with just the right amount of citrus.  Some fruity beers only give a slight whisper of fruit flavors.  This beer gives a little bit more, but not so much that it becomes overwhelming or sweet.  And, of course, being a wheat beer, it already lends itself well to citrus flavors.  Perfect for a warm day.

All but one of my friends ended up loving it!  We even ordered a second pitcher when we were finished with the first.  It was a hit!  Hopefully one or two of them will become more adventurous with trying new beer as  a result.

Disclaimer: Thoughts are my own.  I am not being paid to make the aforementioned
statements.  Simply reviewing products and providing tips of items that I love,
to share with my readers.
One response

  1. I liked the Tangerine Wheat. And you’ve convinced me to try more beers. I liked the Star Lucy from that night with the monsoon and we all ended up at 50 Brews. That was a good beer. And for “more commonly found” beers I’m game for Blue Moon. I know it’s not really beer, but C and I had some pear cider the other night that was really good too.

Leave a Reply

