Autumn To-Do List!

Can you believe it’s almost September?  Crazy how this summer (and this year!) has flown.  I had a teensy taste of fall-like weather this past weekend in Vermont and it was ever-so-beautiful.  It was the kind of weather that was warm but comfortable during the daytime, but had you grabbing a light sweatshirt or jacket in the evenings.  Just gorgeous!

I am longing for that beautiful weather for this weekend.  Although I am grateful that Hurricane Irene seems to be passing us by (but endangering my friends & family up north…thinking of you all and hoping everyone stays safe!), I noticed that the high temps tomorrow are in the mid-90’sF and the heat index is showing 110F!!  I have plans to be outdoors for most of tomorrow…and during the hottest part of the day too…ugh!  So to escape nasty thoughts of surface-of-the-sun temps and hurricanes, let’s turn our attention to something much more pleasant…

In keeping with my Summer List that I have been working on these past few months, I have decided to publish an Autumn List, which you should see as a new tab at the top of my blog.  I plan to add to it as I go, but I think what I have so far is a good start.  It’s my favorite season, so every year I try to pack in as much fall seasonal stuff as possible and really savor all the little fun and extra-special things that I can this time of year.

Here is what I have so far:

  • Corn maze
  • Carve/decorate pumpkins.
  • Epcot Food & Wine Festival
  • Bake something with pumpkin.
  • Haunted Hayride @ Ft Wilderness
  • Ghost tour
  • Try making mulled wine
  • Do some fall/Halloween crafting
  • Decorate for Thanksgiving.
  • Go on a mini-shopping spree for fall stuff; hand soap, candles, decorations, etc.

What fall traditions do you have?  Any ideas for my list?  Unfortunately since I live in the sub-tropics, we don’t really have an authentic autumn…the leaves don’t change, we can’t go apple-picking, and all of our pumpkins have to be shipped in from elsewhere.  It’s a little bit of a bummer, but we do what we can to recreate the same feeling where we are able.  Maybe it’s one of the reasons I like decorating for it so much.

Anyways, TGIF and have a great weekend!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

