Fall Craft Brunch: Candy Corn Wreath

Hope you all enjoyed the first weekend of fall!  I know it has been a few days since I last posted, but it has been a busy couple of days.

After listening to all my jabbering about my love of crafts and my love of fall/autumn/Halloween decor for the past few months weeks, a few of my girlfriends caught onto some of the excitement (it’s contagious, you know)!  So awhile back, I sent out invitations for a little fall craft brunch party at my house.  And this afternoon, four of my best and closest friends came over, and we made candy corn wreaths while eating pastries, fruit, and drinking mimosas.  It was a lovely time.

I got the idea for the project after finding this article via Pinterest.  It looked easy, approachable for people of various levels of craftiness, and was just really cute.

About a week ahead, I laid out 3 bags of candy corn on a cookie sheet.  I wanted the candy to dry out and harden up a bit so it was easier to craft with.

To simplify things, I went ahead and picked up most of the supplies for the girls and they each reimbursed me a little bit of money when they arrived at the party.  I got styrofoam wreath forms, ribbon, black electrical tape, and the candy corn.  I asked the girls to each bring a glue gun and some extra glue sticks.

My kitchen table all set up for crafting!

First step was to wrap the entire wreath form in the black electrical tape.

After that, it’s time to start hot gluing the candy corn onto the wreaths.

There were several different methods used amongst my friends.  Some did horizontal rows around the wreath form.  Some did vertical rows.  Some were more of a zig-zag pattern.  The object was pretty much just to cover the front of the wreath form in candy corn…how you did that was up to you.  They all turned out great!

Once we were done gluing the candy corn, we took the wreaths into the garage and sprayed them with a clear/matte finishing spray to preserve them.  They were each finished off with some ribbon and/or foam pumpkin embellishments.  And voila!  Five beautiful and unique fall wreaths ready to hang!

Here is mine, hanging on the laundry room door off of the foyer.

4 responses

  1. Hi Heather
    This is Mom. Love the wreaths. Looks like you all had a lot of fun creating your masterpieces. They are all so different.
    I shared your blog with Aunt Laurie. She can see how crafty her God daughter has become.

  2. Pingback: My 2011 blog year in review. « Sunshine and some tea.

  3. Pingback: Looking forward to fall. | sunshine and some tea

Leave a Reply

