Fall Door Decor…And a little friend!

Just a quick post to join in for the second of the It’s Fall Y’all link parties!

Today’s party is hosted by Rhoda of Southern Hospitality, and it’s all about door decor.  And to be honest, I don’t have much up yet.  I have some spider silhouettes that I meant to put up in the smaller windows on either side of my door, but I haven’t gotten that far yet.  But I do have a smidgen of door decor to share.

I bought this jack-o-lantern bucket wall-pocket-thingie several years ago at Target for like $10.  Previously, when we lived in our apartment, I wasn’t as much into the whole go-all-out holiday decor thing, so I would just hang it on our door, plain and empty.  But the fact that it was a bucket shape meant it was really crying out to hold something…like flowers!  Last year, being the first full fall season in the new house, I decided to jazz it up a bit by adding two large bunches of silk flowers I found on sale at Hobby Lobby.  I also hot glued the plaid ribbon across the top rim of the bucket, and tied a matching bow at the top of the bucket handle (you can barely see it at the top where it meets the wreath hanger).

Now, I am very well aware that it is sitting off-center on my door, and I meant to center it better before I took the picture…but something stopped me.  Can you tell what it is?

A lizard was hanging out just beneath the wreath hanger!  I couldn’t move it without either #1) risking him jumping right on my head and #2) squishing him between the hanger and the door.  So I just left it off-center and left the little guy alone.  I will give him some time to find a new hangout spot and go back out and re-center it later.

See the fun stuff we get to deal with here in Florida?!  Are you non-Floridians jealous?  Ha ha!  In all reality lizards like this guy are not a big deal.  It’s the snakes, alligators, palmetto bugs, brain-eating amoebas, and gigantic hairy wolf spiders that freak me out.

Leave a Reply

