Instagram Link Party: Winter Park by Boat

The holidays are in full swing!  I’m loving it, but I have been super busy.  We spent all last week doing all kinds of things while my mother-in-law was in town.  She left Sunday and things are slowly returning to normal.

One of the highlights of my mother-in-law’s visit was the Winter Park Scenic Boat Tour we took Tuesday afternoon.  If you live in the Orlando area, or are visiting the area and want to do something a little different outside of the theme park areas.  The tour has been operating for over 50 years, and departs every hour on the hour between 10am and 4pm everyday except Christmas Day.

This was my third time taking the tour, and I still really enjoy it.  It lasts about an hour, and takes you through three lakes on Winter Park’s chain of lakes; Lake Osceola, Lake Virginia, and Lake Maitland.  You get to see some amazingly fancy (and some quite historic) homes, many owned by celebrities and public figures.  You also get to see the beautiful campus of Rollins College.

The lakes are linked by these scenic canals lined with boathouses and huge live oak and cypress trees.  It’s so pretty and peaceful.

This pic was taken during one of my past times on this tour, when I was lucky enough to have a front seat.

My favorite part of the tour is the water-locked cypress in the middle of Lake Maitland.  There is just something really cool looking about a tree growing in the middle of a lake.  Locals even decorate it for Christmas each year.

We have started decorating for Christmas in our house!  I am excited to show you the TWO trees we have up this year.  This is the first year we have had two trees, so I’m really jazzed about it.

Hope everyone had a great holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

