Macadamia Coconut Cookie Bars & Holiday Punch!

As a rule, I generally only make 1 drink and 1 food item per party and buy everything else store-bought.  It’s just too much (for me anyways) to make everything from scratch in addition to all the other preparation and work that goes into party planning.  And usually whatever I do make is very simple.  I haven’t heard any complaints, so it works for me.

Last night was our 9th annual Christmas Party at our house, and I decided to make Rachael Ray’s Macadamia Coconut Cookie Bars and a Holiday Punch recipe I found last year on AllRecipes.com.

Macadamia Coconut Cookie Bars

To start, you need the following:

  • 1 pkg dry sugar cookie mix
  • 1 stick of butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup halved macadamia nuts
  • 1 cup sweetened coconut
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

To start, prepare the cookie dough per the package directions.  Mine said to simply mix it with the butter and egg until it formed a dough.

Then add the nuts, coconut, and white chocolate chips.

Mix it up (not an easy task, as it is VERY chunky), and press it into a thin, even layer on a buttered rectangular baking dish.

Bake it at 375F for 15-17 minutes, or until the edges are just starting to get golden brown.

And then, because I can never leave well enough alone, and because it IS Christmas, I added a light dusting of red & green sugar.  You can skip this step.

Let it cool slightly, then cut into squares and serve!

 

Holiday Punch

I doubled the original recipe to make one large punch bowl’s worth.  It was completely empty by the end of the  night!

 

  • 2 bottles of red wine (recipe calls for burgundy, but I used pinot noir)
  • 2 cups sugar (I used a bit less)
  • 4 bottles of champagne
  • 2 cups of brandy
  • 2 quarts club soda

Simply dissolve the sugar in the wine, then add everything else just before serving.  Viola!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: My 2011 blog year in review. « Sunshine and some tea.

Leave a Reply

