Highlights from Christmas 2011

I can’t believe Christmas has come and gone!  Did everyone have a great weekend?  I definitely did, and feel very blessed with the family and friends (and kitties) that surround me.  I thought I would share some highlights from the last few days…

On Christmas Eve, my parents and siblings came to our house for a casual dinner of Chinese food.  My parents brought the food from one of my favorite Chinese restaurants in their town (they live about 45 minutes away from us), so we supplied drinks and dessert.  I decided to try this recipe for apple dumplings, which I first saw on a post on Thrifty Decor Chick.  This is a pic from TDC’s site, as I didn’t manage to get a pic of mine:

Let me just say, these were a huge hit (although they were a little rich for me)!  And they were very easy…  I was a little weirded out by the inclusion of a small amount of Mountain Dew, but in the end you couldn’t taste it.  You could, however, DEFINITELY taste the butter.  Probably why I could only eat a little bit.  But it was Christmas Eve after all…

We also opened up a bottle of Sam Adams Infinium beer, which is a limited edition brew for the holidays and is meant to stand as an alternative to champagne.  It was very interesting.  At first, it tasted like champagne, but the aftertaste was beer.  Very festive and fun to try after our Christmas Eve dinner.  Might pick up another bottle if we can find one before the end of the season.

Christmas Day started with just Tadd and I exchanging presents at home.  We also gave the kitties some gifts (ok, a lot of gifts…they were spoiled!).  The big hit with them was this plastic ring with a ping pong ball inside.  Jacoby especially is incredibly mesmerized by it.

Later in the morning, we packed up the car and went over to my parents’ house for our traditional family festivities.  We exchanged gifts (and got a TON of stuff from my way too generous parents), and I got…DRUMROLL PLEASE…a sewing machine!

We also had a nice dinner as a family, complete with holiday-themed wine.  We get this every year and it’s actually really good and very reasonably priced!  We got the Merlot, but there are other varieties available (Cabernet, Chardonnay, and maybe some others)  Makes a great gift for Christmas.  We get ours at Total Wine & More.

After dinner, we went out into the front yard to admire my parents’ poinsettia plant.  Isn’t it gorgeous?  So festive!  I want one now…

That was pretty much it.  It was a very low-key holiday weekend, but a wonderful one as well.  How was yours?

2 responses

  1. My boyfriend bought my dad Infinium for Christmas! Did you all like it? I’m curious as to what he’ll think hehe. I love your cats too :).

Leave a Reply

