Thoughts about my first sewing project…

So I finished my first sewing project yesterday.  A couple of simple throw pillows.  I adore the fabric I chose, but my skills thus far leave a lot to be desired.  Still, it’s my first project, so I am obviously not going to get perfection right away.  Practice makes perfect and sewing isn’t one of those things that comes naturally or intuitively to most people.  Well, not for me at least.

I have watched several of the basic sewing tutorials from this site, which I have found to be full of very helpful tips for my next project.  And I have to make a trip to JoAnn’s tonight to get some additional items that I didn’t know I would need until the past few days.  I also started a new pinboard on Pinterest for some sewing projects that I might like to attempt.

One other thing I discovered during my first sewing adventure: Trying to sew with an extremely playful kitten around is not an easy feat.  Jacoby (who is now about 7 months old) loves EVERYTHING about sewing…dangling scraps of fabric, spools of thread he can knock over, and some new furniture in the living room (my old desk and a card table for cutting/measuring) to climb on and explore.  I love him, but I can’t wait for the kitten/terror/everything-is-my-toy phase to be over!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Sewing Project: Gathered-front clutch. | sunshine and some tea

  2. Pingback: Nice to meet you! | sunshine and some tea

Leave a Reply

