Instagram Link Party: Dropkick Murphys @ House of Blues

Hope you had a great weekend.  Mine was very busy, but I think the highlight was getting to see the Dropkick Murphys play House of Blues in Downtown Disney last night.

This is a band I have loved since my high school years back in the late 90s.  One of the things that I love about them is that their songs and style reflect their Boston/Irish heritage, which is a heritage that I share (at least partially, I am originally from the Boston area and I am a quarter Irish on my dad’s dad’s side).  I also love that they are so closely-tied with Boston sports teams.  During the show, they mentioned the approaching start of baseball season and gave a shout-out to the Red Sox.  And the Boston Bruins logo was on their bass drum head.  It was fun seeing all of the people in the audience with Red Sox, Bruins, Celtics, and Patriots gear.  I wore a Red Sox shirt and Tadd wore a Celtics shirt and a Patriots hat.  Lots people just wore generic Irish garb too…shamrocks, anything green, even saw some kilts.

My only request was that they play Tessie, which they did (yay!), along with many other favorites, including their big hit I’m Shipping Up To Boston, from the soundtrack of the movie The Departed.

During the encore, they invited a ton of people on stage, and then got them to mosh during their cover of AC/DC's song "Dirty Deeds". Crazy!

One thing I noticed that I have ALWAYS noticed at Dropkick Murphy shows in the past (this was probably my 5th or so time seeing them live), is that their fanbase and the people who attend their shows are amongst the most friendly of any punk rock concert audience I have been a part of.  Not to say that they aren’t also rowdy and crazy and loud; but three times during the show, strangers around me asked if I was able to see the stage well enough (I am under 5ft tall), and everyone was just so friendly with each other.  They are a happy-rowdy bunch, instead of mean-rowdy or intimidating-rowdy.

As always, I’m linking this post with a {little} dash of ash’s weekly Instagram Link Party.

Leave a Reply

