Countdown to Mad Men Season 5.

One of my favorite TV shows of all time is Mad Men, and I am SO excited about the Season 5 premiere this Sunday night on AMC!  If you are a fan like me, I’m sure you are just as excited.  We have been waiting patiently for new episodes for almost a year and a half!  So to say this Sunday’s premiere is highly anticipated is an understatement.

source

source

If you know me, you know I love history.  And something that I find so utterly fascinating about Mad Men is the attention to detail when it comes to historical accuracy.  Even subtle, little things that might fly over the majority of viewers’ heads (especially those of us who did not live through the 1960s), they take the time to get right.  For example, the premiere of Season 2 took place on Valentine’s Day, 1962.  The end of the episode concluded with everyone being glued to the TV, watching Jacqueline Kennedy give a tour of the White House.  Sure enough, this little detail really happened…On February 14, 1962, CBS did, in fact, broadcast a special of the First Lady inviting the nation to see all of the restoration work that had recently been completed.

source

And for me, it’s not only the historical accuracy that I love so much, but also the way it’s woven in and out of the story with such a natural flow.  You never feel like these details are inserted intentionally with a wink and a nod to the modern audience.  There’s nothing clunky about it; it’s just really good writing (and acting!).

source

And I would be remiss if I talked about Mad Men without mentioning style.  The clothes, hair, makeup, and set design are all drool-worthy.  It’s as if the whole show is one big piece of art.  While I’m not sure that the mid-century style fits MY personal style perfectly, there’s just something about it that is so aesthetically pleasing.  The sleek furniture, rich colors, classic suits, and tailored dresses just ooze with class.  Again, it’s the little touches I love, like Betty’s tufted headboard (above), and Joan’s signature gold pen necklace (below)!

source

source

Did you know that Banana Republic has its own limited edition Mad Men-inspired line of clothing?  Some beautiful stuff too…

pinterest

pinterest

pinterest

pinterest

pinterest

pinterest

pinterest

So we are getting ready in this household for our own little two-person season premiere party on Sunday night.  I broke out the Mad Men cookbook that my brother gave me for Christmas, and will be making a few items from it, including Don Draper’s favorite cocktail, the Old Fashioned (made, of course, with Canadian Club).  I had thought about making classic martinis (a la Roger Sterling), but Tadd is just not a martini kind of guy.  And he hates olives!  And to make a classic martini, you MUST have olives.

Only 48 hours to go!  Who else will be watching the season premiere with us?  Are you doing or making anything special for the occasion?

Leave a Reply

