Easter Dessert: Chocolate Chip Cheesecake.

Happy Easter to those who celebrate!

Tadd and I exchanged Easter baskets this morning, and it turns out the Easter Bunny knows I like Starbucks!  He brought me a giftcard in my basket.  Score!  I also got a personal mist sprayer that I can bring with me to the theme parks on a hot day, a cute card, and lots of candy!  Tadd also got a personal mist sprayer, some new earbuds, a grill brush, and even more candy.

I always bring dessert to our family holiday gatherings.  The last couple years for Easter I have either brought a creamy banana-chocolate pie or some kind of toasted coconut pie.  I decided to do something different this year.    I swear I came up with the idea on my own, but then discovered kraftfoods.com had pretty much the same recipe already on their website.  So I will (reluctantly!) give them credit…Ha ha!  It’s basically my regular cheesecake recipe with some mini chocolate chips thrown in!  Super easy!

Start with your ingredients:

  • 2 bricks of cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (plus a handful extra for the top)
  • graham cracker pie crust

Start with the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla…

Mix with a hand mixer until it resembles cream cheese frosting.

Add the eggs…

Again, mix with the hand mixer.  It will very quickly get creamy and batter-like.

Add the 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips.

Pour into your crust, and sprinkle an extra handful of chocolate chips on top, if desired.  Bake at 350F for 40 minutes.

If you want to be fancy and perfect, you could probably bake it in a water bath like the pros to prevent cracks, but honestly, the cracks don’t really bother me.  You will want to allow it to cool, then store in the fridge for several hours to allow it to firm up.  I try to make it the night before, because the texture is always better the 2nd day.

I wish I could cut a piece to show you the final product, but that will have to wait until later today.  It would be poor form to bring a dessert to Easter dinner that had already been dug into!

Hope you and your family have a great day!

Linking up with the Tutorials & Tips Party at Home Stories A 2 Z!

Home Stories A2Z
8 responses

    • Usually Easter baskets are for children, and usually they are mostly candy, but small gifts aren’t uncommon. My husband and I don’t have children, so we put together baskets for each other. It’s something I have fun with. 🙂

      • It’s a bit like a second Christmas in miniature. We always got mostly small gifts and maybe one thing of candy. Most of the candy was reserved for the eggs in the egg hunt.

  1. Pingback: Instagram Link Party: Easter Recap | sunshine and some tea

  2. Pingback: Holiday Greetings 2012 | sunshine and some tea

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Projects of 2012 | sunshine and some tea

Leave a Reply

