Ommegang Brewery

While we were on our little Albany-to-Cooperstown trek last week, we made a stop at Brewery Ommegang for a beverage and bite to eat.  I have had Ommegang beers before at a few places around Orlando, but it was neat to get to visit the actual brewery itself.  It’s situated in a very scenic spot, in the hills just outside of Cooperstown, NY on the grounds of an old hop farm.

We did not do the brewery tour, but we did have a delicious lunch in the Ommegang taproom.

I can’t say enough good things about the food here!  Tadd and I shared the frites with truffle aioli and honey mustard dipping sauces.  The honey mustard was good, but I could have skipped that and had two ramekins of the truffle aioli, as it was one of the most delicious items I have tried in a long, long time.  I also had a spinach crepe that was really good too.  Tadd had the croque madame, which he loved, and Kerry & Bryon (the bride & groom) shared the beer cheese fondue with apples, bread, and sausages for dipping.  Every single thing we ordered was excellent!

I failed in taking pics of our food (too busy enjoying it!), but I did manage to snap a pic of the beer we tried.

The boys both had the BPA (Belgian-style pale ale).  I tried it and was surprised by how much I liked it.  I’m not normally into overly hoppy beers (when the hops are too plentiful, I feel like it makes the beer taste too herbal and flowery), but this one was quite good.  I had the always-delicious Hennepin Farmhouse Saison, which according to Wikipedia, was the first saison in America.  And Kerry chose the Abbey Ale, which is a richer dubbel-style beer.

Definitely recommend stopping at Ommegang if you happen to find yourself near Cooperstown, NY.  I would like to go back someday and take the brewery tour!  And maybe get more of those frites with truffle aioli…

Leave a Reply

