Embracing My Inner Geek – MegaCon 2013

I admit it…I am a geek.  I have a soft spot for anything Star Wars.  I also kind of have a crush on Spock (although I would NOT consider myself a Trekkie/Trekker), can quote the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and love various other pop culture phenomenons that lean towards the nerdy end of the spectrum.  To top it off, if you have been reading my blog for any length of time, you know I’m a Disney geek, and also a history geek.  And…I married a geek too!  He not only loves all of the things I have already mentioned, but he also has a HUGE video game collection, loves Harry Potter (something I never really got into), and reads comic books.  I’m not sure why, but I have always been drawn to guys who have some kind of geeky streak to them (see above crush on Spock).

We are planning on attending Star Wars Weekends at Disney’s Hollywood Studios this coming May for my birthday, just like we do every year.  I have always felt left out that I didn’t have any Star Wars clothing to wear.  Everyone always dresses so festively, whether it’s an actual character costume (which I would never do…too uncomfy and hot!) or just a Star Wars themed t-shirt and/or hat.  I decided I wanted to participate this year, so I found this shirt from Old Navy with a very sassy Princess Leia on the front:

I wanted something a little extra, and remembered the Star Wars fabric that I had bought awhile back.  I decided to whip up a quick headband for myself (used this tutorial…SO easy, it literally took me about 10 minutes).

I ended up getting to wear my new geek-ensemble sooner than I thought!  Tadd and I ended up going to MegaCon 2013, which is one of the largest sci-fi/comic book/fantasy conventions in the southeastern US.

Now I am all ready for Star Wars Weekends!

What do you geek out about?  Come on, everyone has SOMETIHNG!

One response

  1. Pingback: Some random thoughts… | sunshine and some tea

Leave a Reply

