My Wine List

I want to preface this post by stating up front that I am NOT a wine expert by any means.  I like what I like, and it may not be what you like.  However, I wanted to share 5 vastly different wines that I happen to love for various reasons.  If you ARE a wine expert, I would imagine that this list would seem silly to you.  However, if you are an average, casual wine-enjoyer like me, some of these suggestions might help you the next time you are trying to decide which bottle to choose.

By the way, these are in no particular order…

1. Banfi Rosa Regale

BEST FOR: Celebrations

Banfi Rosa Regale, Brachetto d'Acqui

This is my go-to special occasion wine.  If you are celebrating, there is nothing better than a chilled flute of bubbly Rosa in your hand to toast with!  Regular old champagne is great on its own, but for me, this is a step above.  It’s a little more fruity, and a little more complex.  We always bring a bottle on board with us every time we cruise.  We have also used it to celebrate birthdays, promotions, anniversaries, you name it.  Lots of happy memories with this wine!

2. Ca’ Montebello Sangue di Guida

BEST FOR: Girls Night In!Ca' Montebello Sangue di Giuda

My girlfriends and I love this one.  Actually, Tadd loves it too.  It’s sweet, but not cloying, and ever so slightly carbonated.  Not to the level of a champagne, but enough so that we have all nicknamed it “wine soda”.  Just delicious.  Because I can’t always find a bottle of this, honorable mention goes out to Stella Rosa Rosso, which is not quite the same, but fits the bill when we have a craving for “wine soda”.  Random fact: “Sangue di Guida” means “blood of Judas”.

3. Conundrum

BEST FOR: A reasonable splurge

Conundrum

Conundrum is a white blend (Viognier, Muscat, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay), and is a little more expensive than the typical wines I drink in average, everyday settings.  Being somewhat frugal-minded, I tend to lean towards wines in the $10 range, and this is usually twice that price at Total Wine.  However, I think if you were to push me to pick 1 wine as my all-time, all around favorite, this would be it.  So when I want to indulge myself in a little splurge, this is my choice.  They have a red blend as well, which I also love.

4. Pacific Peak Merlot

BEST FOR: Budget shoppers

Pacfic Peak Merlot

I  must give credit to my dad for introducing me to this one.  This is one of those quality-for-the-price picks.  Is it the best Merlot ever?  No, but it’s actually pretty good and perfectly drinkable.  And here’s the kicker: I can buy a bottle of Pacific Peak Merlot at Total Wine for $2.97!  I have also tried their Cabernet and Chardonnay at the same price, and while not bad, the Merlot is definitely better.  It’s wonderful on a Tuesday night after a hard day of work when you don’t necessarily want to drink something fancy, but still want an enjoyable glass of wine to relax with.

5. Skinny Girl California Red

BEST FOR: The calorie-counter.Skinny Girl California Red

We all know that alcoholic beverages are not the best for us.  They are high in calories and carbs and don’t always jive with a healthy eating plan.  A glass of wine here and there in moderation is fine, of course.  But if you are really watching your diet, you can still enjoy a 100-calorie glass of Skinny Girl wine.  To be honest, I am not a huge fan of the other Skinny Girl products.  The white and rose wines are not bad, but not great.  The margarita is AWFUL!  But I find this red wine to be fairly enjoyable.  Especially when you consider that each glass is only 1 Weight Watchers point.  My only complaint would be price.  I can get them occasionally at my local Publix for $14/bottle.  It’s not totally unreasonable, but I would be happier to see it closer to $10.

What is your favorite wine?  Do you drink the same wine all the time, or do you buy different wines for different occasions?

Leave a Reply

