RIP Google Reader

On July 1st, the ever-popular Google Reader will cease to exist.  I don’t know about you, but I had been quite happy with Google Reader as my RSS reader of choice for years.  I am sad to see it go, but I have since transitioned over to using Feedly.  It’s extremely easy to import everything automatically from Google Reader to Feedly, and over the past month or so, I have grown accustomed to the features and format.

I know some people have decided to switch to Bloglovin, which also will auto-import your Google Reader feed subscriptions.  I like it as well, but find that I just prefer Feedly more.  It’s a personal preference thing.  If you use Bloglovin, you can follow Sunshine And Some Tea at the link below:

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I think my main reason for choosing Feedly over Bloglovin is that Feedly allows you to see each blog post in its entirity within their application.  Bloglovin only allows a preview; you have to click through to the blog itself to read the entire post.  It’s a good thing for bloggers because each page view will be recorded in their stats, but some people might be annoyed to have to click through to read more of the post.  However, Feedly requires a browser extension download, whereas Bloglovin does not, so if you are not into the idea of downloading something for your browser, Bloglovin might be a better choice for you.  Also, Feedly has more options, while Bloglovin is a bit simpler, cleaner, and more streamlined.  It really is a matter of what works best for you.

What RSS reader are you using to replace Google Reader?  Feedly?  Bloglovin?  Something else?

One response

  1. I am still upset because Google Reader is dying. But I have been using Bloglovin and at first I didn’t like that it took me to the blog page but I find I am more social that way. I tried feedly but felt it was too slow.

Leave a Reply

