Living Room Makeover…Before

So I am hoping that the weekend proves to be as productive as I intend it to be.  Currently the plan is that we are getting the new living room furniture delivered tomorrow.  As stated previously, we are getting the beige L-shaped Ektorp sectional sofa, 2 brown/black Billy bookcases (haven’t decided yet if I’m getting the cabinet doors for the bottom half of the Billys right away or waiting until a future date), a coffee table, console table, and possibly an end table.

I actually started clearing out the room last night.  I didn’t think we had too much “stuff” in that room aside from the furniture, but looks were quite deceiving.  I packed up all the decor and candles, cleaned out most of the coffee table shelf (where lots of odds and ends seem to accumulate), and made a pile of Tadd’s stuff that he will have to go through eventually.  Tonight we will move the coffee table, old sofa, and the few other small furniture pieces into my sewing room (still haven’t decided exactly where everything will be going permanently, so for now we are just going to cram everything in there).  Then we will deep clean the carpets with our handy dandy steam cleaner.

Unfortunately, I neglected to get a true “before” picture.  I was looking back through my collection of personal photos to see if I could find a good true “before” shot, and found some decent ones from one of our past Christmas parties…just so you can get a sense of what the room has looked like for the past few years.  Just ignore all the people and the extra kitchen chairs brought in temporarily for additional seating.

I admit I will miss the huge pop of red the old red sofa brought into the room.  I think when I initially bought it back in early 2005 several people in my life suspected I might live to regret buying a bright red sofa, but in almost 9 years and in 3 different homes, I never did.  Not even for a moment!

However, I am excited that I will get to go in a whole new direction with this makeover.  With the red sofa, my design philosophy involved toning down the red with lots of neutral accessories.  So with the beige sofa, expect lots of colorful accessories!  I don’t want to commit to a color scheme quite yet.  We are keeping the pale yellow walls, so whatever we choose will have to jive with that, but I find that it’s still fairly neutral and goes with most schemes that I would be drawn to anyways.  I am on the hunt for an inspiration piece (throw pillows, wall art, etc), and plan to pull the colors of the accessories from there.

For example, I LOVE this (unfortunately, discontinued) pillow from Pottery Barn!  If I could find something similar, I would easily be able to pull a color scheme together for the rest of the accessories.

Luckily, there are much less expensive and more readily available pillows with pretty florals and paisleys in almost any store that sells home decor.  So I am quite confident I will find one that I love just as much pretty quickly.  Hopefully we get a chance to shop for this type of stuff on Sunday!  Accessorizing is the best part!

This kind of thing always triggers my anxiety a little bit.  Big purchases, big changes, and big decisions always tend to do that to me.  But I am also very excited.  I feel like we have way underutilized this room since the beginning.  I am looking forward to a new layout that uses the space more effectively, gives us more flexible and attractive storage options, and more ways to show off our design personalities.  I hope the end result turns out the way I see it in my head.  I guess we will find out by Sunday night!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Living Room Reveal! (kind of…) | sunshine and some tea

Leave a Reply

